If your business has employees who need to forward expense reports to certain approvers, then you can link users to each other for expense reporting purposes. This feature only works for expense and travel reporting, not on general invoice approval workflows.
How to restrict expense report approval
If you want to ensure employees cannot bypass or alter their assigned managers, you restrict expense report approval editing.
Go to Settings → General.
Under Expense Approvals, enable the restriction for expense approval editing.
Once enabled, users will only see their assigned approvers and cannot add, remove, or modify them. Only administrators, accountants or approvers will be able to change the details in a workflow.
How to set expense reporting approvals to specific users
To set up the expense reporting approval workflow between specific users follow these steps:
- Log into Envoice and go to Settings
- Select Expenses
- Go to Workflow Templates
- Click on "Add new"
- Name the template
- If you wish, then check the Apply automatically box so this workflow instantly attaches to the user's new expense or travel reports
- Change the reporting type to "Specific people"
- Select the employees who the template applies to
- Add approvers and set their order, whether they approve sequentially or in parallel
- Save the template
When the selected employee fills out an expense or trip report, it is sent to the assigned approvers.
Note about users: You can create one automatically applicable template per employee. You can create multiple templates that do not apply automatically.
Note for Travel Reports: If a trip has multiple travelers, the system only applies the workflow assigned to the primary traveler (the first assignee).